top of page

Last Day :( (long post)

Today was my last day at SEEDS (until I figure out a continued schedule), and I'm so sad to be leaving. I had a good time working there and I felt like I still have so much more i can do to help out. I have a new appreciation for work because I was beginning to get stuck in a cycle of school work. When I was at SEEDS though everything felt purposeful which made me want to work and help out.

I think my motivation has a lot to do with the people I worked with. In the SEEDS office there's so much passion and motivation. Everyone is always busy and ready to do something. I'd love to one day have the same passion for something that Stacy and Arlene have for SEEDS and every person they work with.

I think I still have a bit of time before I figure my life out. One thing I've taken away though is that you can never really know where you're going to end up. Like Mimi who didn't know what she wanted to do but eventually found herself studying public health and working at SEEDS. My mentor Arlene also said this is not what she expected to do. She said life changed her path and she just found her way to keep going. So as scared as I am about the future - life beyond high school- I'm excited to see where life will lead me.

The transition of high school to college will be the beginning of me finding myself. Which is super cheesy but true. I'm inspired to try everything, learn everything that I can until I find what is for me. I'm feeling motivated to do what I need to do at school so I can get to the point in my life where I have something to always work for.

Overall externship has really shown me that there's so many different paths that come from one thing. Health can lead me to so many places. So can teaching, and writing, and anything else. I just have to find the one thing that I like and that will give me the most satisfaction for my life.

I met a lot of people while I was working at SEEDS. I met a lot of girls currently in college who all had different majors. They would talk about their finals and work they needed to do. About the classes they were taking and sometimes failing. It just helped me see that life is life. These are people who are going to school and doing what they need to do and it's not super cut and dry. There's going to be mistakes, stress, confusion, sometimes even a bump in the road. But it's all just life and everyone in the ned is just trying to get somewhere and eventually we all will.

This is the same picture of the SEEDS logo I posted in my first blog post of externship. It shows my future because as much as I know I'll be going to school and still helping out at SEEDS when they need it. More near future, but it's nice to have something familiar during the next few weeks of endings and transitions.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page