top of page

--- Day Three ---

The place I work is like school, in the sense that they teach people. They have lessons they make on power point to use as visual aids. Today I sat in on one of those lessons taught by Stacy (the current executive director), she was talking to a twenty year old with Asbergers. She was teaching her how to tell if someone really cares, and how to have a flowing conversation. She taught her how to see things fro other people's perspective, and that a friend is someone you need to have something in common with. I participated in the lesson and it was just like being in class at school. I answered questions, I talked to the girl in between the lessons, I even feel like I learned a lot. The lesson was really about general social skills that really even us typicals can forget. I really enjoyed being able to sit in on the lesson and see how the girl learned and progressed, especially after hearing her story.

SEEDS is very vocal about their mission, they want to help those who can't always help themselves. Their purpose is to be there to guide those with cognitive disabilities in the direction of being able to live as much as a normal life as they can. They are not therapy they are teachers. They teach them how to interact socially and sexually, so that they can have the connections everyone needs in life. Like the girl I met today, she is on her way to being able to have steady and healthy friendships, and this is because of SEEDS.

I usually work from 9:30 (sometimes 10:00) - 3:30 (sometimes 3:00) and continue working at home. A good time to visit would be Monday, Wednesday, or Friday - next Wednesday though we are having an intern day! Which is going to last a majority of the day. Excited for that.

Below is a project I've been working on. I'm mapping out the SEEDS curriculum. This is what they give to their clients to have the lessons portable. I'm mapping out the folders showing where they lead to because it can become a bit confusing having to go through so many files.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page