top of page

Long Reflection Post

During my internship I had many little jobs. I did many office related things like encrypting documents, participating in lessons, and correcting workbooks and power points. I always made sure I understood what my mentor or coworker wanted me to do. I also made sure I had the time to do it well. I worked over the weekend to make sure things were done in a timely manner. In school we do work for our own benefit which is different than me correcting workbooks for other people. This taught me a lot about time management and working independently but not for myself. I know I did a good job when my mentor checked my work and said it was what she wanted. This taught me a lot about my own work ethic. I could see where I was strongest in working alone, but also saw where asking questions helped. Working with Mimi has taught me that it's always best to discuss what needs to be done before doing it.

I feel I had a lot of contribution to the office. I did the things that needed to be done that my mentor or coworker didn't have time to do. I also did things that would benefit not just people in the office. The corrections I made to lessons are going to help teachers that use them. I did folder mapping that will help the people using the curriculum flash drive know where everything is. This work has also made me feel good about myself because I know everything I'm doing is for good reasons. It also feels nice to keep busy during such a weird time in my life of thing's ending and transitioning.

My work is also meaningful to my education because it's showing me options. I see what my mentor or coworkers are doing and I think about myself doing those things. So when they give me a job to do I have the chance to take the experience into consideration for the future. Was it something I enjoyed doing? Would I like to continue doing this kind of work? This helps me progress.

In a place like SEEDS a non profit organization there's always something more to the work we do here. We are always helping. Even if it's just one person that we help we know it's going to make a difference in their life. Those with disabilities can live independently and safely they just need to learn how. This is where SEEDS steps in, and I know that every little thing means something in the end. The work here keeps going beyond the office - it keeps going into the lives of those learning how to live in the best way they can.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page