top of page

Work Work, and More Work (Blog #3)

1. This week we officially started working on our VR videos. For my first week I am doing all my filming, which includes a lot of practice shots and rehearsing with actors. Every one had time to acquire the skills the producers would need, but this is a new experience for all of us. Nonetheless my crew is great, we work so well together. We've been bouncing off ideas and finalizing the storyboard. My videographer is doing great, she has to do the most for the filming because it's a first person view. The footage we've gotten so far looks so good and makes me feel pretty optimistic for the final product. But you don't get anywhere without a few hiccups. As a producer I have a lot to do. I have to make my spreadsheet for my budget, create my own grading system, hire everyone, make sure they're available to work during my class time, and then I have to tell everyone what to do. It's a lot to keep track of, it's set me back on my filming too. I think a way to fix it is to tell the producers what they have to do during guild time. Because it's usually just a time for everyone else to help their skills and the producers just wait for them to be able to work. If we had our own time to work on what we need to do we'd be less stressed.

2. But any project as big as this is going to cause stress. And is going to have a lot of distractions. When the class room is full of people all working hard it can be difficult to focus. One way I help myself focus is to set a schedule of work. I pick exactly what I need to do and my goal is to accomplish it . I tune everyone out if I need to and just work.

3. In English we have been learning about the news and how important it is. News matters. Why? Because it gives us the information we need to be the informed citizens we should be. Without it we wouldn't know anything about elections, the government, or what's going on in the world. In a way they have a lot of power. Whatever they say is the information we rely on, so if they give us literal bad news it's us who are hurt. Because then we go around with false facts and it can impact the decisions we make. As I said before the election is a good reason for the news. But if all we get is bias opinions and propaganda then they're not doing their job of giving us the straight forward facts. We know that's what they're supposed to do. And if we misunderstand an opinion for a fact then we'll think it's the truth. It could even change someones vote. The news has a lot of power by what they choose to show us. Hopefully we all listen to good journalism instead of bad journlism.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page