top of page

Jobs and the Future? (Blog #2)

In the singularity reading we did in Dr. Don's class we learned all the predictions for the future. One of those predictions was about artificial intelligence, which to me means the possibility of robots doing our jobs for us. We are always finding easier ways to do things and the next step is creating robots who can do things faster. It's always discussed in the news that machines will have the chance to take over... well I've seen a lot of movies like that. Either way to me it's concerning to know that sooner or later there will be more than just computers that are smarter than us. What happens when they do everything better?

Earlier in the week we had a job fair. As a producer I made sign up sheet for every job that I had available and talk to everyone interested. I found that it was fun to get to share my idea with people, and it was so nice to see who else wanted to help me create it. I'm not sure if it felt like a real job fair because I've never been to one. But it did feel fairly professional to me. I talked salary with people, let them know what I needed, and made people offers. I think if we had more time to prepare we could've made it even better. I learned that I can be a pretty good leader if I let myself take control. So far I've hired all my first choices for each job.

In the reading we did last night I learned about Kid Kustomers. From a young age we are exposed to commercials and advertisements of all kinds. Is this right? Should the children with easily impressionable minds be allowed to see advertisements? Is that fair? I don't think it is. Kids usually can't tell the difference of ads and regular tv. With the internet their privacy is ignored and they are used for surveys and focus groups. They are unaware of what is happening to them and it's like selling candy to a baby. If we allow companies to do this of course it's going to effect our society. Instead of letting children grow up to be customers we should teach them that not everything they say is true.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page