top of page

Planning Week (Blog #1)

We have started working on the VR project in Dr. Don's class. The name of the project is "Keeping it Real" which I think is a pretty good name. So far in class I have been preparing to be a producer. My video is going to be a first person experience of having social anxiety. It'll be a 360 video and will teach people about social anxiety. So, I've been figuring out who and what I am going to need. And making a schedule that will hopefully keep me on track during filming, editing, and everything else. So far I've found it hard to estimate what I need for my project. I've never made anything like this before nor do I have the experience of being a producer. But that doesn't mean I'm not excited for this leadership position, I can't wait to start. I have already started researching my topic and picturing how the video will look in my head. I know it's going to take a lot of work so next week will be great as we finally get to hire people to work on our projects. I want my video to be educational and help everyone become more empathetic towards mental illnesses like social anxiety. So, my goal for next week is to find people who are just as excited as I am and are ready to work hard to help me achieve my vision.

This week in English we have been reading and learning about propaganda and the doublespeak that is often used in it. I realized that I know exactly what doublespeak is I just never knew it had a name, which concerns me a little bit. Here's this thing that essentially is meant to trick me and go over my head and I didn't even know it was a thing. There are four kinds of doublespeak and I learned that I use some of them in my daily conversations. Which really made me change my perspective for a bit, I actively tried not to use it. It scared me honestly. What kind of person am I if i use doublespeak? I also actively tried to catch it, on tv this week. Many political commercials have it. They made me wonder, what would I be thinking if I still hadn't known what doublespeak was? Would I have different opinions? Would it change my thinking somehow? I honestly think words are one of the most dangerous things we can use against each other. The world we live in is often persuaded by flattering or passion, and if we use the right words it just makes it that much easier.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page